Kotzschmar Memorial Trust Scholarships: accepting 2021 applications

Due to the pandemic and restrictions regarding gatherings, auditions will be held digitally this year.

Our deadline dates are in two stages:

  1. An email with your intent to apply must be sent to and be received by Friday, April 30st at 6:00 PM.
  2. The deadline for submission of all required materials is Friday, May 7th at 11:59 PM. (Time stamps will be noted.)

This scholarship was established in 1911 to provide financial aid “in the musical education of such pupil or pupils, of marked musical ability.” According to the terms of the trust, preference is to be given to promising students of the organ. If no such promising student is found, the trust states that the award “….may be used in aid of students of marked music ability in piano, violin, other musical instruments or voice culture.”

Auditions are open to students age 10-25, who live in one of the following Maine counties: Cumberland, York, Oxford, Sagadahoc, or Androscoggin, studying organ, piano, voice, and all orchestral instruments. We separate students into three judging groups to include: pre-high school, high school and college/graduate applicants.

FOKO’s Board of Trustees has kept the scholarship running annually and its outreach has motivated and rewarded dozens of young musicians in the greater Portland area. (Sadly, in 2020, the auditions had to be canceled at the last minute due to the COVID-19 pandemic.) As a continued goal to enhance the educational benefits of the scholarship, the auditions are meant to be encouraging for participants, performances are evaluated based on and skill level, and judges’ comments are shared with the students in order to foster a better understanding of their performance strengths and weaknesses through constructive criticism.

If you have, or know of, students of marked musical ability, between the ages of 10 and 25, who live in the Maine counties of Cumberland, York, Oxford, Sagadahoc, or Androscoggin, please encourage them to audition. We wish to acknowledge the musical talent of our youth and to assist them in furthering their musical education.

Please direct any inquiries to us, at 207-553-4363, or email Please put SCHOLARSHIP in the subject line of your email.

This page was last updated on March 11, 2021.

Rules and Requirements

Scholarship Application